Posted by: randommisfires | January 20, 2009

Inauguration

We don’t have cable, so I didn’t expect to catch the inauguration today.  I figured I would have to watch it on HBO.com tonight.

On the way to school, we turned on the radio only to realize that of course every station was broadcasting it.  I won’t go long on this post, I just wanted to ask one question.

What in the hell was up with the mess Aretha made of “My Country ‘Tis of Thee?” Or in her version, “My Coun. Tree “tisofthee”

And the second verse with the screechy “Father” thrown in there?  It almost sounded like she’s had recent thyroid surgery.

Luckily, the string/clarinet ensemble after Joe Biden’s swearing in was amazing.

(I can’t actually listen to this as I forgot my headphones and I’m in the library.  If it’s not right, I’ll replace it when I get home)

Responses

  1. You just don’t have an ear for soul music…you did grow up in the whitest state on the planet, after all.

  2. I’m with you, Liss. She really ruined a beautiful song.

  3. I don’t know about my ear for soul, but my ear for the wrong note was making me CRY CRY CRY by the time she was done!

  4. And there were 3 black kids in our high school, so I’m not sure why you think I grew up in the whitest state. . . ;P

  5. Awww c’mon give the poor lady a break. Do you have any idea what cold air does to the vocal chords?

    And I’m with Jen. She just sang it soul-style, which is the only way she should have sung it

  6. Hehe, she did it Aretha Frankiln style. I loved the String/Clarinet too!! Just beautiful!!

  7. I think I need to say again, I am usually a fan of the soul-style. There are many Aretha songs I love. Just not this one. I can blame it on the cold, but it also makes me a little sad that she didn’t belt it AND hit the notes like she used to.

  8. I know I wish she could have belted too – but it prob would have done more damage than good. Here she says herself that she wasn’t happy with the performance thanks to the cold weather – http://www.cnn.com/2009/US/01/22/lkl.aretha.franklin/index.html?eref=rss_topstories


Leave a Reply

Categories

