Posted by: randommisfires | December 7, 2008

Calling All Christmas Candy Recipes

My entire growing up life, my grandma sent us candy for Christmas.  English toffee, peanut brittle, fudge, divinity. . . all of the good stuff.  We looked forward to that package with great joy.  She died and it seemed that the candy tradition died with her.

I had several successful batches of various things while living in Utah and my mom also made stuff on occassion, but the yearly sugar fest was over, until a few years ago when my oldest sister took up the tradition.

This year, for various reasons, it doesn’t look like she will be able to send us candy.  So, Iam hoping to preserve the tradition and help the kids learn how to make it here.  And maybe even send some back there.

Here’s the problem.  None of my high altitude recipes work in California.  Seriously.  I know you all believe that it’s only because of operator error, but I promise you that I really do know how to make Christmas candy.  Lollipops (and no the chocolate melt kind!), glass candy, and especially the English toffee.  But in allof my attempts over the past 5+ years, I have only experienced miserable failure.

So, I have a belief- probably flawed like most of my beliefs- that it is not the cook who needs the help, but the recipes.  Maybe they need less moisture?  To cook a bit past whichever ball or crack stage is right for them?  I think I’ve already tried all of that and now, I just want to start with recipes people have made and enjoyed at 1500 feet rather than 5000 feet.

Can anyone spare a recipe for a friend in need?

Responses

  1. Well, you know I’m no help. I think Fudge is pretty univeral though. And really the only candy worth eating in large quantities. Rachel Ray had a way of making it into cute wreaths. Which I would have done if I hadn’t already made fudge.

    How do you feel about hand dipping chocolate?

  2. Shelly’s “Five Pounds Of Fabulous Fudge” recipe is made entirely of awesome.

    http://base.google.com/base/s2?q&a_n0=recipes&a_y0=9&authorid=2860588&hl=en&gl=us

    The “elevator lady spice cookies” are my all-time personal favorite cookies, but I don’t think those count as candy, as they’re cookies. Just follow the danged recipe. You’ll be tempted to replace the shortening with butter and to make the cookies bigger than the recipe calls for. And if you do that, you’ll be successful in making the most awesomest cookies around into something far less than awesome.

    Also, let ’em cool entirely. Unlike most cookies, these taste better once they’re cooled and crunchy.

    And couple ’em with a glass of milk. Oooh I’m jonesin’ for a batch right now.

  3. How’s about homemade candy canes? http://digrat.blogspot.com/2008/12/candy-canes.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

