Posted by: randommisfires | November 21, 2008

Twilight

The Vampires

The Vampires

Can we talk? Can I be honest with an unpopular opinion and not lose all two of my readers?  If not, just tell me.  I can take it.

Before we start on the movie, please let me clarify that I did not love the books.  I know, I speak heresy.  I am not saying I hated the books.  Twilight was fine, and even entertaining in places.  By the fourth book though, all of the teenage self-doubt clutzy angst was really quite enough to send me screaming.  There’s only so much pining for true love that one girl can handle, and I was full about 200 pages into the series.

So, when I told R I would take her to the movie at midnight, I made sure she knew what a HUGE sacrifice I was making.  Because honestly, I expected to leave the theater annoyed with a sub-par film marketed only to capitalize on the teenage self-doubt angst filled girls the books drew in like wildfire.

I willnow admit that I was surprised.  Without giving away anything you’ve already read, I thought they did a good job with the movie.  They certainly captured Bella’s constant confusion, and worry.  Her proclamations of trusting him fell a little flat, but they effectively used cinematography to capture the overly emotional girl we fell in love with in the book.

There were a few things I found distracting or outright disliked, but over all I was not disappointed that I spent time and money and also lost sleep to see the movie.  Which is lucky for R because now she doesn’t have to be my slave tomorrow to make up for the hours I sacrificed for her.

Wait.  Scratch that.  I HATED the movie, it was complete and utter rubbish and I am now going to months behind in everything because of the hours I spent getting to and viewing the crap they call entertainment.  Think that will buy my lackey back?  Because those socks don’t sort themselves.  I’m just saying.

Back to the movie. And the book,as well since it’s perpetuated there.

My big giant beef with the Romeo and Juliet story line is this. Does the Edward Myth promote the perfect man syndrome to such a degree (and yes, the girls screamed in the theater in unison- that ear splitting scream- when he appeared on screen.  Some of them shed tears over a fictional character being played by an actor on a flat piece of cloth.  Totally over the top.) that they expect perfect and are then dissatisfied by good men all around them?  Sure, every girl is a sucker for the romance flicks.  They aren’t called chick flicks for nothing.  And there is a certain degree of satisfaction to the happily ever after endings these movies have.  I can admit that.

But it took Edward 107 years to become a perfect man.  These mortal men don’t have a snowball’s chance in hell of being that guy.  You know, that perfect, gentle but strong, gorgeous, understanding, thoughtful, respectful, generous knight in shining armor.  And don’t forget the perfect abs. Even if a real man had 107  years, 90 of it would be spent watching ESPN or playing WoW or something.

How do we encourage our girls to enjoy the fairy tale and appreciate the myth without encouraging them to pass over great guys in hopes that perfection will come along and ride them off into the sunset? How do we teach them to find the diamonds when they shine quietly and don’t sparkle like a vampire in sunlight?

Responses

  1. It must be that I have a six year old, but I never heard of this movie or the books.

    They coming out with a Junie B Jones movie soon? Maggie will be so there.

  2. Even more frustrating than the perfect man syndrome is Bella’s complete dependence on him for her happiness. Without him she is nothing. Great message there.

    I didn’t like the books either. And…I’m not even going to watch the movies.

  3. I thought I was the only person on the planet who hadn’t read the books. Then I was out-done when My husband said “What the is this Twilight thing that everyone is talking about?”

    But as for teaching girls to accept the non-perfect man…my only solution is to hope they go on a date or two with total pigs or extreme perfectionist jerks. Then they will see the guys who are doing their best but have normal, human flaws as something good.

    As for the abs…tell her now that is 99.99% not going to happen.

  4. The total dependence bugged me too. He’s constantly saving her from herself and as a result, she can not live without him.

    That too makes me completely insane. There are several songs out right now that express that same trend. The one that comes to mind right off is “No Air” by Jordan Sparks. Every single time it comes on, I am compelled to tell the girls how ridiculous it is that you would be utterly dependent on another person for your happiness.

    They pretty much just change the station as soon as songs like that come on now.

  5. If I had a daughter, I would be bothered by that message too.

  6. Ah, those wonderful angst-filled teenage years. I can remember bawling my eyes out in the theater during “Pretty in Pink.” Now when I watch it, I think, “What a pathetic loser that guy is–why would she go back to him?”

    Luckily, we all grow up and have love, heart-break, forgiveness, disappointment, and life experience that helps us understand things more realistically.

    I have always had a hard time when something gets so over-the-top popular. It makes me want to back off and just mock the whole thing. The Twilight phenomenon has been a little like that for me. That being said. . . I’m for sure planning on going to the movie. Who knows, I may love it! Or at the very least, I will get some good mocking material!

    BTW, I finally posted my random facts. . .

  7. Well I for one liked the books…although I found them a bit “mushy” at times.

    But I must agree with you wholeheartedly on this point: Those socks *don’t* sort themselves.

  8. Just for the other side of the coin… I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and my dreams of Edward all night long! Completely loved Edward in spite of thinking I wouldn’t. Call me shallow? Just content to be whisked away to a world where there IS someone to save you from life’s perils and love you in spite of your awkwardness. And yes, the practical side of me has reminded my daughter several times that Edward does not exist — he’s 107 years in the making + invincible to boot. She’s practical enough to get it. But I’ll be going back for a second round of Edward & Bella over Thanksgiving and hoping to enjoy it even more when it’s not midnight and I’m not on the 2nd row!!!

  9. Jenne said that she read the first and she was ready to throw herself agianst the wall… i laughed… i read about the first 50 pgs and i got so bored i wanted to shoot myself… but i guess that the first 50 pgs sucks and is really boring… so i guess that i really missed out… but i really want to see the movie


Leave a Reply

Categories

