Posted by: randommisfires | October 22, 2008

Meme hate

It’s true.  I won’t deny it.  I hate memes.  It’s not that I hate telling people random facts about me.  Hello?  I spend each and every blog post relaying random facts.  Seriously!  Who can think up more?

And then, there’s the pressure.  I’ve been tagged publicly.  OK, most of you don’t know Don or read his blog– and honestly, I’ve never met him either, even though we’ve worked together for over 5 years now- but there’s still an expectation.  SIGH.  Yes, it’s all about the peer pressure.

Here’s how it works: Don tagged me for “Six Random Facts About Me”. Looking around the Net I see that this meme has been running around for a while and has stayed basically true to form. The main deviation is changing the number of random facts. I’m a little grumpy that it’s 6 facts and not 5 like my other lazy friends usually send me.  In fact, when I tag all of the rest of you, I’m going to make it 3 facts.  Because 3 is easy.

Wait!  I can do only 3 and have succumbed to peer pressure while still feeling like I sit fully in charge of my own actions.  Perfect!

The Rules

The rules to play are easy …
1. Link to the person who tagged you. (which I did above).
2. Post the rules on the blog.
3. Write six three random things about yourself.
4. Tag six people however many people you care to at the end of your post.
5. Let each person know they have been tagged.
6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

Now for the boring facts:

1) I am an unsafe backer.  Seriously.  A motor vehicle in reverse and me at the wheel?  Bad combo.  If you don’t believe me, ask any number of people.  Many many many stories out there. But no actual tickets for it.  It just occurred to me that I should have a few moving violations on my record.  SWEET!

2) I have a pathological need to be on time places.  It’s an illness.  Being late usually makes me cranky and irritable and upset.  No different from every day, you say? Shut up!  It’s worse when I’m late. Or bored.  Boredom is bad for me too.

3) I’m usually in the middle of several books at once.  Right now, I think it’s 6.  Maybe 7 or 8.  Can I count books that I lost last summer before I finished them? How about books I have started but I don’t remember starting them?  That happened the other day.  What a surprise to pick up a book thinking, “This looks interesting” only to realize I had enjoyed most of it several months before.  And now I know how it ends.  Bonus!  Now that I think about it, I am probably in the middle of a dozen or so books, including but not limited to:

  • The Brothers Karamazov (which has kicked my butt)
  • A book on the Brooklyn Bridge which effectively puts me to sleep at night
  • A novel set in South America
  • A novel set in WWII Japan
  • several childrens’ books
  • A book about world religions

Is everyone sufficiently asleep now? Cool.  But tomorrow, I’m getting to the good stuff and posting more pictures of puppies.

Consider yourself tagged if you happen to be Myopicrhino, Jen, Naomi, Luella and Brig.

I know, I’m a giver.  Try not to worship me for my kindness.

But fill me full of juicy gossip to use against you later. . .

Responses

  1. WT*? You are perpetuating peer pressure! At least you lowered the bar. Thanks for that.

  2. Aw crap. I’m overdue for a blog update anyway.

  3. Done did it!

    http://digrat.blogspot.com/2008/10/six-random-facts-about-me.html

  4. Hey, you broke your own rule–I had to get to the bottom of your post, several days later to find out that I had been tagged!

    I was so flattered, I forgot to be bugged that you broke your own rule. 🙂 I’ll get on it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

