Posted by: randommisfires | September 10, 2008

The Incredible Brian Greene

We had the pleasure of driving up to CalTech today for a guest lecture by Brian Greene, a physicist made famous by his book and PBS show of the same name, The Elegant Universe. The TV show is 3 hours of entertaining information everyone should watch, if for nothing else, the enjoyment of the special effects and the ease with which Brian, who compared me to Sarah Palin and whom I now have a mild crush on, explains basic physics without making one feel like a two year old. Even though my knowledge of physics stops right about the time an opposing force enters the picture. Or something like that.

Tonight, he spoke not of string theory, the philosophy he is famous for making famous, but of black hole theory, which has more evidence supporting it. And, it honestly was fascinating. In a nerdy physics sort of way sure, but also in the way Brian, who might have asked me to call him Brian, was engaging, lively, quick witted, and also thoughtful both in helping people find passion in science, and in answering questions. A few of which were obtuse or out right umm. . .well. . .insane. One lady asked him what he thought of the information circulating on the internet regarding the end of the world in 2012 (by the Mayan calendar, although she apparently didn’t know that), and 26 Sag, or something like that. She apparently got confused with the terms “physicist” and “psychic”. And he was generous and kind to her, while telling her he had absolutely no idea what she was referring to. I think he was so nice, that she left with a little crush on him as well.

The book, “Icarus at the Edge of Time” is engaging and informative. Meant for a younger audience, I still found it enjoyable. And N is absolutely thrilled with his own copy, signed by a famous person.

Excuse me. I need to go research his future appearances, as I am about to become a groupie. Because I truly am a total nerd.

Responses

  1. Your helpful (and a bit gushing) review of this man’s work has peaked my interest.

    I am currently trying to find cool books to read with Isiac…I want this one in our library.

  2. The brown hair, the glasses, the 5 kids, the hunting polar bears… yeah, I can definitely see the Sarah Palin thing.

  3. Now, I’m wishing I could have gone with you to that lecture. And, I am glad you made it home safely.

  4. OHMYGOSH!!! I love Brian Greene!!!! I had no idea that was the speaker at the physics lecture you attended….arrrgghhhh!!!! I’ll look into his new book. He is adorable and fun and witty and makes everything so fun to read. You are as pretty as Sarah Palin, but you’re so much smarter, I would vote for you before her…. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

