Posted by: randommisfires | August 26, 2008

Hyperventilating

Tomorrow, R officially begins college.  And although I present a sufficiently blase exterior, I do recognize that this is change for both her and me.

That fact was clearly brought home to me today, when we went down for her to walk around and be sure she knew where her classes are for tomorrow.

It took somewhere under 5 seconds for her to observe the volume of students on campus, decide on a plan of attack for fitting in, and leave me in the dust while she walked to each class.  After our bonding moment over the Ice Cream Cop, the alacrity with which she abandoned me to save her “image” was stunning.  Breathtaking even.  Not only that, but she beat me back to the car and was buckled into the front seat a good 5 minutes before I got there.

Apparently, going to college is not an antidote for being a 13 year old girl.  At what age are kids OK being seen with their parents again?

And in spite of my best efforts, she was not willing to stop on campus and pose for a photo.  I can’t say I blame her, but I really do want one.  Silly embarrassing Mommy.

Responses

  1. You know… now that I think of it, maybe I didn’t want to finish college because I was just so sick of school at that point and just wanted to *move on* already. If I could have gotten it all done by the time I was 16-18 maybe I would have. Then again maybe not. It’s just a thought 😛

  2. Yeah….. Teenagers! LOL! Matt said it was kind of embarrassing having his mom take him to his classes on back to school night… I had no problems though… I Love my Mom! It was better than being late to my classes…


Leave a Reply

Categories

